Meaningful action and expansion.

October 2, 2008 at 9:52 pm Leave a comment

Do you ever find that an entire day has passed where you’ve been ridiculously busy, and yet you find that you have done absolutely nothing? You passed your entire day doing mindless busy work that isn’t really getting you anywhere but further away from where you want to be.

I used to spend entire months doing that. I would tell myself that I was being really productive. It’s seductive. You can feel sooo busy, but be accomplishing the square root of sh*t all (excuse my language).

So how do you focus on the important tasks? Discipline is first. You have to be willing to kick yourself in the ass, and get on with things. You have to be willing to blow up your own excuses. You know, that story that you tell yourself…”Really, opening these emails is very important. I’m being so productive by opening these emails.” Or, my personal favourite, “Checking my website stats is important. What will I do if I don’t know what pages people are visiting most? It’s definitely very, very important.” I know its not. But it means I can avoid doing other things, bigger things, scarier things.

Why do we avoid these things? Why are these things so scary? I think it comes back to that comfort zone idea. Its new, and therefore terrifying. I also think it usually comes back to having a low self worth – who are we to take this new, expansive, crazy action? Who are we to promote ourselves, or our businesses? And those voices from our past clamor in as well, eager and ready to add to the tirade, to continue to tell us that we need to be careful, that we don’t want to get too big for our britches.

Who are these voices? And why aren’t we able to tell them where to stick it?

So while I’m unable to make the voices shut up yet, I did decide to try and change how I act. Now, every Sunday, I sit down for an hour and I make a plan for the week. I list all of the things that need to get done and dates they should be done by, and I carry it with me everywhere. This way, whenever I’m staring at the computer screen, about to check my website stats, I look at my list, and go do something important instead – and by important, I mean actually important. Its really helped me to accomplish more and I’m feeling better already. Its still a work in progress, and sometimes I put on too much, or put on too little, but the general idea is working. I’ll be a productivity maven in no time.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go check my website stats.

Entry filed under: Fear, Procrastination. Tags: .

Poker: Just another metaphor for life Photoshoots and preparations.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



