Hey look! I accomplished stuff!

October 10, 2008 at 12:17 pm Leave a comment

I woke up this morning wondering exactly why I was going to get out of bed. You know those days – your bed is warm, the air is cold, and for the life of you, you can’t remember why its important for you to get out of bed. What’s the point you say?

And for about 5 minutes, I threw myself a pity party. I let that inner critic tell me that there was no point in getting up, that I’d accomplished pretty much nothing in the past year since I started doing this full time. And what with that economic crisis crashing over our heads, the voice told me that I should just break down, give up, and get a damned real job.

And then I gave myself a shake, and sat down and listed all of the things that I’ve accomplished in the past year.

  • Planned and held my first solo exhibition at 19.
  • Sold two paintings at said exhibition
  • Had commissions coming out of my ears for Christmas last year
  • Was accepted into the Pelham Art Association’s Juried Show
  • Was accepted into the Pelham Art Festival, as (I’m fairly certain) their youngest member ever
  • Was accepted into my first gallery (and sold a piece!)
  • Was chosen as one of 4 artists to show at the local business chamber awards ceremony at the end of October
  • Have had media coverage on 3 separate occasions
  • Met, learned from and may end up collaborating with an artist whom I slightly hero worship (he’s an amazing artist, and as it turns out, an awesome guy too)
  • Learned about marketing from some of the best small business/guerrilla marketers out there (Holly, Leslie, I love you guys!)

Its been a pretty exciting year. Lots of stuff has happened, and I’ve grown a lot as an artist and a person. And I’m learning that its important to celebrate your accomplishments, because otherwise you just get caught up in day to day life, and you never give yourself the pat on the back that you so deserve. Go buy yourself a cupcake. Light a candle. Sing a happy song. Celebrate your wins.

And lets all kick that crabby, inner critic to the curb. It has no place here.

Entry filed under: Accomplishment. Tags: , , .

I love this girl. How do you heal?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



