Always listen to the happy 93 year old.

October 28, 2008 at 4:49 pm 1 comment

She probably knows something you don’t.

I met the most marvelous woman this weekend. (This is what I was going to talk about yesterday, before self doubt won out. I feel better today though, thank God.)

Charlotte is her name, and art is her game. This woman has come every single Saturday to the Queen Street arts festival, rain or shine, and stayed all day to sell her art. She is 93 years old, and has more life than most 20 year olds. The twinkle in her eye could blind you.

And you know when you meet a 93 year old with a bum hip who spends her Saturdays outdoors in the freezing cold, and walks around with a grin the size of your head on her face…well, you know when she talks, you’d better be listening. Cus she definitely knows something you don’t. Here are some of the wonderful gems she shared with me that day:

“Paint with joy, always. Look at it as an adventure – sit down, start painting and just see where it takes you. Enjoy the process. The product is great, but the process, the 3-4 hours lost in total bliss – that’s the important part. ”

“Wake up every day and say to yourself, ‘Today is a wonderful day! I wonder what adventures will happen?'”

“Look for the beauty in life. No matter where you go, look for the beautiful in the every day.”

“If you want to do something, decide that you’ll do it, and you will. Anything is possible.”

“Enjoy life, because it’s amazing. It has so many gifts for you every day.”

“Do what brings you joy. Life will follow you.”

I was so honoured to have met this beautiful soul. I only hope that I can be be so happy, joyful and marvelous when I’m 93. I mean, she has an email address, for pete’s sake. How many other 93 year olds do you know with email addresses? She was simply amazing. I can’t even describe to you how much I loved this woman.

And then right before I left, when I went to say goodbye, she took my arm, looked me in the eye and said, “You’re going to go far. Your artwork is beautiful. You will go far.”

Yeah, I nearly died. That was the one of the kindest compliments I have ever been paid, and by someone with so much life experience and happiness.

I’ll be listening to this woman’s advice, that’s for damn sure.

Entry filed under: Art, Good times. Tags: , , .

This was going to be a happy post. Today is going to be fun.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. originalpurity  |  October 28, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Good Evening Sarah,

    Angels come in many forms – sometimes they are 93 years young women – filled with wisdom and love.

    Other times they are – er how old are you? – year old artists – go be an Angel

    Be Blessed, Kal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



