World saving has been postponed.

November 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm 3 comments

I’ve written a few articles about Chronic Fatigue Syndrome and how it affects your life and how to cope.

I often seem like I have my shit together. Some days I do. Some days I don’t. I know more than I used to. I still don’t know everything.

Today, my entire body hurts. My brain feels like mush. I am staring at this computer screen like a zombie. I feel mind numbingly useless.

I know this feeling will pass. I know that it will get better and that tomorrow, I’ll feel better, I’ll cope, I’ll be bright and cheery and optimistic. Right now, I feel overwhelmed.

Right now, I want to hide under my covers and sulk for the rest of the day. Tomorrow I will save the world.

So for anyone out there who is chronically ill and despite all your great intentions, woke up this morning feeling like God ran you over in the night, you are not alone. I’m not going to give you some cliched piece of advice that’ll make it all better. There is nothing anyone can say. This really is the shits.

So go find some leftover Halloween candy, hide under your sheets and sulk away the day with me. Maybe find a good book. Give yourself permission to give up, at least for today. We shall see what tomorrow brings.

Entry filed under: Coping With Chronic Illness. Tags: , , .

You’re scared, I’m scared. We’re all scared. Its okay. 5 Reasons Why You Should Never Buy Original Art

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachelcreative  |  November 1, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Sorry you’re feeling overwhelmed and rotten today. Sometimes I think these days come from our bodies saying we need more rest than our usual patterns. Pity the body couldn’t find an easier way to hint!

    Hope you can rest and make the most of the resting and that tomorrow is better.

    Reply
  • 2. Kal  |  November 1, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    Hey Sarah,

    I am sorry to hear that you are feeling low today. As ever I will send some healing energy in your direction. I hope that it will lighten your load and bring you some peace.

    Take care friend, Kal

    Reply
  • 3. Rachel Z. Cornell  |  November 1, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    I don’t see managing your illness as giving up.

    Sometimes it is simply a bitch and the best thing you can do for yourself is be okay with it to be a bitch.

    I think it’s really good that you’re say this. I think people who have a chronic illness or other life frustration sometimes try and be heroic and that often only makes the next day all the more challanging.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



