Jane Austen, business stuff, CFS, and a lack of chicken sacrifices.

November 10, 2008 at 3:19 pm 4 comments

I have a feeling that today’s post will end up being a jumble of entirely unrelated topics.

Maybe if I’m feeling extra smart, I’ll be able to make them all connect at the end? Don’t count on it though.

Item #1 – Oh my god, I finally have a new website host. Holy mole. My old one was killing me. I purposefully would not update my website because it was so irritating to use, and that’s probably not a good thing. So I feel totally relieved. I also get an email address that is NOT a hotmail account, which is terribly exciting. I feel like a professional! However, if you go to visit my site, and it isn’t showing up, or its doing some kind of weird thing, please, email me and let me know so that I can A) fix it or B) yell at the appropriate people.

Item #2 – I’m going to start blogging for a Jane Austen blog. Ha, if you only knew what a dork I was. It was actually kind of synchronistic-ey, because literally, I’d been sitting on my couch, being totally unproductive for an evening, watching Sense and Sensability, and thinking, “Wow, if only I could blog about how awesome Jane Austen is without boring all of you to tears.” Next day, signed onto Twitter, and “Austen.com” had started following me and was looking for bloggers.

Creepyyy.

Either way, I now have somewhere to express my embarrassing obsession for all things Jane, and maybe even start the Church of Jane Austen. We’ll see.

Item #3 – I’m feeling totally excited about all things business. (Also, I’m becoming increasingly exasperated with my overuse of the word “totally”. What am I? An 80’s valley girl? I will try to find a new word, promise. I’m probably going to go back now and edit half of them out.)

Anyways, I’ve been reading/listening (whatever) to IttyBiz’s free Online Business School interviews etc, and I have to give them credit, because they’re totally inspiring. You know how sometimes you listen to business advice, and you’re like, “Holy shit, I cannot do that. That is for Smart people, who know what the fuck they’re doing.”  This was great because you listened to it and you thought, “Wow, I could actually do that. I mean, in all honesty, I could probably do that, and not completely screw it up.” Which, you know, is always awesome.

Item #4 – Kind of been mulling over this crazy idea lately, and maybe its not that crazy, but either way, its being mulled. And I’m kind of excited about it, because really, it would make a lot of the crap I’ve been through worth it, and I mean, potentially this idea could bomb and fail miserably, but maybe I should just tell you what is is, and end this horribly long, run-on sentence?

Okay, then.

So here’s what I’m thinking – after doing a quick check (and by quick, I mean, I googled it, and looked at the first 3 pages, and decided there was nothing), I realized that there isn’t a whole lot out there for coping with CFS. Now, for those of you who don’t know me, I’ve had CFS for 7 years now, and for a while there, it got pretty hairy. But after getting through the hairiness, I really came to terms with being sick, and I’m pretty okay with it most days. It doesn’t make me insane anymore, and I’ve made peace with my body. We get along okay now. But I kinda had to get to that place on my own, because all of the coping advice I read at the time SUCKED.

It talked about eating better, and pacing yourself, as well as my favourite – not getting stressed out. I hated that one. Because really, I’m chronically ill. It doesn’t really get a lot more fucking stressful than that. So please, oh wise one, tell me how to not get stressed out?

But none of it actually talked about all these crazy feelings that can come up and how to make peace with those things without feeling like you’re giving up or going insane. And when I talk to other people with CFS, and they ask me for advice,  I realized that we all end up feeling pretty similar stuff. But no one was talking about it.

So I might start a website, with email coaching (kind of like a CFS life coach) to help people feel validated, and make peace with themselves and their bodies so that they can reclaim their lives and get back to normal.

Does this sound like a feasible idea? As of yet, no idea what to name it, or what to charge. So any suggestions would be awesome. Maybe I could call it the CFS Life Coach? After reading what I wrote above, it doesn’t seem too terrible.

So yeah, I think that’s it. I’ve pretty much covered all of the topics on my mind right now.

And by the way, they are, actually, all very related.

I didn’t have to sacrifice a chicken for any of them.

Entry filed under: Coping With Chronic Illness, Stuff That I Can't Categorize. Tags: , , , , , .

Self reliance, independence and chicken sacrifices. What? Good morning, resistance.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kal  |  November 11, 2008 at 4:31 am

    Good Fresh Morning to you Sarah,

    Sounds like you are buzzing! Fantastic! (and I dont mind over-using that word 🙂

    Lots of projects fire-ing up – I like life when its like that – the dawn brings new strengths and vigour!

    I look forward to seeing how you progress along the path.

    Take Care, Kal

    Reply
  • 2. Tony  |  November 11, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    Hi Sarah. Found you on Twitter (I’m tonyaguila). Congratulations on your blog site. My “favorite” JA blog site has become so partisan to the point of being unfair. Jane herself wrote, “I hope I never ridicule what is wise or good. Follies and nonsense, whims and inconsistencies do divert me, I own, and I laugh at them whenever I can.”

    Quel dommage on your condition, but I’m sure it has made you a stronger person.

    More power to you, and I hope to be a habitué here.

    Tony

    Reply
  • 3. Sue  |  November 12, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Hi, Sarah –

    I just read your blog for the first time and loved it! I laughed out loud at the part about advice not to get stressed out when we’re living with chronic illness! That’s exactly how I’ve always felt. I’ve had CFS for over 6 years now, and both of my sons (ages 10 and 14) have it, too. I couldn’t believe you’re only 19 (right?) when I read your blog – you really seem to have it together. I’ll definitely come back to your blog again.

    Sue

    Reply
  • 4. badkittyartstudio  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:42 am

    I think it’s a steller Idea. It won’t take away from your art…I know because I counsel on the side as a life coach too. It pays the bills baby and I get to help people too. The teacher is the best place to be because in teaching we get to learn twice. If you ever need anything in getting started, I’ve been life coaching for ten years as an independent…feel free to hit me up for info. Hell I’d even join with you to help reach the CFS community…if you ever need my help (not volenteering mind you, just a friendly offer)
    Keep it up…artists that are successfuul and still alive…most have another way to keep money flowing in too. Break a leg! Best wishes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



