It’s done! It’s done!

November 13, 2008 at 1:52 pm 6 comments

As I write this, I am intermittently running around the house, shrieking, “It’s done! It’s done!” while waving my arms above my head. Just ignore me. Its probably safer.

The painting from hell, that I just couldn’t let go of, is finally done. FINALLY. You don’t even understand. I can actually work on other things now! New things! Old things! Whatever things! This painting was stopping me from doing anything else. The only other painting I finished while working on this was a small sketch of a sweet potato squash. Yeah. A freaking squash.

But now, its done! And I can work on other things! And hopefully I will never again massacre another painting like this one! (Although I’m sure I will.) Seriously, looking back now, I wish I’d taken photos of it at every stage, so that when it sells, I could send the collector a small bound of book of all the really silly mistakes I made.

But nevermind. Its over now, and the world is a better place for it.

Ta da!

Painting of Girl and Gerberas by Sarah Marie Lacy

Painting of Girl and Gerberas by Sarah Marie Lacy

Ignore the crappy photo. I’ll do it better later. But right now, I just want to celebrate that it’s finished.

On the other hand, part of me thinks that it almost looks better like this….

Yeahhh negative colours.

Yeahhh negative colours.

Stupid addictive photoshop, making me do fun, pointless things when I should be doing useful stuff. Like working. Damn you. *Shakes fist*

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go work on things that are NOT this painting.

Entry filed under: Art. Tags: , , , .

Good morning, resistance. Growing past the scary bits.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  November 13, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    Yay! Congratulations, it’s lovely 🙂
    I know EXACTLY how you feel about finishing a painting from hell…
    I did a commission for the Bruce Springsteen fan club once…I wanted to tear huge chunks of my hair out. I’d sit in front of the canvas just crying…swearing…and making Jesus jokes…but seriously it was bad. I feel for you and know exactly how great you must feel now.
    Nice work!

    Reply
  • 2. shelli  |  November 14, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    THAT is stunning! Congratulations on such a momentous accomplishment. I think that (from past posts) even if you wanted to give up on the artist inside you, the artist inside you would never give up on you.

    Reply
  • 3. badkittyartstudio  |  November 19, 2008 at 8:43 am

    OMFG! You rock…never stop…never!

    Reply
  • […] Thing #1: I finished the painting from hell. Boy, did that feel good. And I’m super happy with the finished product, which is also a good […]

    Reply
  • 5. rachelcreative  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    That’s a cracker of a painting! Congratulations of finishing and doing such a brilliant job!

    Reply
  • 6. The drought is over. Finally. « Sarah’s Blog  |  November 26, 2008 at 9:29 am

    […] once I finished the one of my best friend, I could feel the juices flowing again. And oh boy, today, I think I’ve hit my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



