Positivity Fridays: What a week.

November 28, 2008 at 12:24 pm Leave a comment

This week happened? Really?

Because I don’t remember it happening. But the calendar says its Friday, so let’s get started.

Warning: It’s been a crazy week, so this is gonna be long.

Awesome Thing #1: My friend George!

George, as I described earlier this week, is an awesome friend. He totally helped me out this week by getting my work into a super exclusive place that I can’t even talk about on here, because the only way I could get in was if I swore to secrecy.

Yes, my life is that intense. (Not actually.)

Either way, he opened some doors for me that, being 20, I would have probably had to kick down before they let me in. He’s got age and experience and networks on his side that I don’t. But he let me share them this week, and for that I am totally grateful.

Plus, he gave me the world’s most awesome pep talk and afterwards I just felt so much better about life, that I went home and painted for hours. You can’t buy inspiration like that. He helped me overcome my creative dry spell as well, so all in all, he’s just an amazing friend who is suppotive and encouraging and inspiring.

Am I lucky, or am I lucky?

Awesome Thing #2: My creative dry spell is over! Woohoo!

When you go through a creative drought, life is pretty awful. It’s like pulling teeth, every single day. With a spoon.

But now its over and I started several billion pieces this week, some of which I will be posting right here, right now. Oh yeah. I’m totally stoked about these paintings.

works-in-progress-246

Work in progress by Sarah Marie Lacy

Work in progress by Sarah Marie Lacy

Work in progress by Sarah Marie Lacy

Work in progress by Sarah Marie Lacy

Work in progress by Sarah Marie Lacy

Christmas present for a friend by Sarah Marie Lacy

Christmas present for a friend by Sarah Marie Lacy

Ignore the crappiness of these shots but my light sucked today. When they’re finished, I’ll shoot them better.

Awesome Thing #3: We didn’t kill a cat. Trust me. This is a good thing.

Last night was kind of traumatic and really strange.

My mum was giving me a ride over to Jesse’s house, and there we were, going along, minding our own business, when we both looked to the right side of the car and saw a cat about to get completely mowed down by our wheels. (I would have you note right now, the right side means it was the passenger’s side. My side. Which means I made eye contact. It was horrible.)

We own cats. So killing a cat – definitely not cool. Which means that we were both freaking out. My mum slowed down immediately (traffic was slow, thank god) and turned onto a side street. We were both having a conniption, her more than me though, so I had to pretend that I was calm and in control. (Big fat lie.)

I’d looked behind us and couldn’t see the body of the cat on the road, so I looked at my mum, and was like, “Holy shit. I think its stuck under the car.”

And then we both heard meowing.

You cannot even comprehend how fast we got out of that car. We looked underneath, both of us fearing the worst, and we couldn’t see anything. Nothing hanging down, nadda. Which for us meant that it was really stuck under the car somewhere, like up in the engine or something. My mother at this point was hyperventilating and so I called my dad, who was all like, “Well what do you want me to do?” and I was all, “I don’t know, what the fuck do you want me to do? I have a seriously hysterical woman on my hands and a cat potentially stuck in the car. You tell me.”

At this point, a very nice student was walking past, whom my mother stopped and asked if he could help us. Fortunately he lived right there, so he went and got a flashlight so he could look under the car for us. (Whoever you are, dude, I owe you.)

I went off to see if I could find this poor cat’s body, in case it wasn’t stuck under the car. So there I was, walking up and down one of the main streets in the city, staring at the curb of the road, gnawing on my knuckles. Who looked insane? I did!

I couldn’t find it. I was super upset, because that definitely meant that this poor cat was stuck inside our car. But when I got back to where we were parked, the student couldn’t find any sign of it. Not even any blood.

And then my mum and I realized that we’d never heard a thud. We’d both just assumed that because the cat was right there, that we would have had to hit it.

But by some freaking miracle of god, that cat managed to turn around and run away, without injuring a hair on its head.

So for that, I am ridiculously, wonderfully grateful. Still completely freaked out but very, very happy that cats are speedy creatures. Wherever you are, kitty, I hope you’re okay. And I’m sorry that we nearly killed you and probably scared the living crap out of you. Hug.

Awesome thing #4: I drew a life road map!

In the spirit of figuring out what my life’s ambitions are, and assuming that because I’m an artist, maybe drawing it might make things a little bit easier, I decided to draw myself a life map.

It was actually pretty cool, and it showed me all of the things that I do want to do with my life. There’s a lot. And some of them are pretty huge too. I’m not sure if I’m admitting to myself yet that I really want to do all of these things, but they’re out there, which is good.

I was undecided about whether I should post it here or not (like, does anyone even care?) but if you’re interested in seeing it, tell me in the comments or email me and I will post it for you.

Awesome thing #5: I had an epiphany.

About which I’m not going to go into extreme detail here. Suffice it to say, I know what my block is between me and my ambition, and it was a memory that I tried to bury, but I wasn’t doing a very good job.

When I was 16, someone who is very close to me and whose opinion is important to me, told me, during a bad bout of depression, that I would never accomplish anything great in life because I was sick. That same year, they also told me that I was a very nasty person and that I wasn’t a fighter.

How much do you wanna bet that those words are what’s holding me back now? I’d bet my left kidney on it.

Awesome thing #6: The CFS Ninja is now up and running. Yeeee. Go check it out (but only if you have CFS, ME, or FMS. Because otherwise, it’ll pretty much mean nothing to you.)

http://thecfsninja.wordpress.com/

So it was a week of big, crazy stuff for me. I’m almost a little bit wiped out by it all. Think I might go shopping with one of my friends this afternoon, relax and unwind a little bit.

Hope you all have a fantastic weekend and I’ll see you next week!

Entry filed under: positivity fridays. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Learning to be me, one day at a time. Good morning, Monday.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



